Demand Generation: Lead Generation for Complex Products and Services

In this Insight, you will learn what Demand Generation is and for which use cases this marketing tactic is recommended. Using concrete examples and a case study of the software manufacturer Micro Focus, we explain to you what the success criteria for demand generation are.

Topics in this Article

  • Demand Generation
  • Demand Generation by example
  • Your key to success is high-quality data
  • Case Study: Micro Focus
  • The advertising strategies
  • Inform. Engage. Convert
  • Matrix Funnel
  • Retargeting Funnel
  • Operationalization
  • Mission accomplished

The task: Create awareness and generate qualified leads for the complex software products of the international brand Micro Focus. For this challenge, The Digitale successfully established the Demand Generation marketing strategy for the enterprise IT manufacturer in the DACH market.

Demand Generation – sustainable marketing to generate leads and prepare sales

Properly applied, Demand Generation – sometimes “underestimated” in Germany as Lead Generation via email marketing – is a marketing strategy that includes medium- to long-term measures and has a very effective and sustainable impact.

Demand Generation is not – as the name might suggest – just about creating short-term product demand. Rather, it aims to grow a genuine and long-lasting interest in the brand’s solutions and services among potential customers – usually across multiple touchpoints and often combined with content marketing tactics. This process is also often referred to as lead nurturing – lead generation as a constantly improving system. That’s why demand generation is mostly used in B2B marketing, i.e. solutions from companies for companies, but is also ideally suited for high-value B2C products.

Demand Generation explained by example

Demand Generation can be better illustrated by the example of buying a washing machine: Today, a customer very rarely impulsively goes into an electronics store and says: “I’ll take that washing machine in the back!

Before buying in the store or in the online store, the customer has usually gone through several touchpoints on the Internet before making his decision and has informed himself comprehensively with content about different type classes, manufacturers and much more in the media and test reports, but also on the manufacturers’ websites. On site in the store, the customer is then likely to have the salesperson explain the product again in detail.

The orchestration of the entire customer journey: the content, the personalization from the first search or the first click on a banner to the presentation by the salesperson – that is Demand Generation with high quality for both the provider and the prospective customer.

Key takeaway: Demand Generation is the tool of choice when your customer usually goes through a longer Customer Journey before deciding to buy.

Your key to success is high-quality data

In order to address complex target groups, it is first crucial to have the right data about them – or to generate it through efficient marketing campaigns.

We use all available data pools for our customer projects here. And these are usually bigger and better than you might think at first glance. SEO and social data, your CRM data, but also targeted market research and preparatory marketing measures help to draw a vivid picture of your persona, their respective needs and their problems. This means that high-quality, targeted information about your solutions for the needs and problems of your target group can then be presented on the appropriate channels.

Case Study: Micro Focus

The two primary goals for the long-term campaign were: Increase awareness of Micro Focus and Micro Focus products in the DACH region and create Lead Generated Opportunities (LGOs). These are qualified leads that have been validated by Micro Focus’ sales experts in order to estimate the expected budget dimension of a project and attribute it to the marketing lead.

The complexity of Micro Focus’ offering also contributed to the challenge: One of the 10 largest software companies in the world, Micro Focus has about 270 products, each with different competitors and also very different target audiences. Competitors range from IBM and Microsoft to startups and mid-sized software vendors with differentiated competencies in the niche.

The Lead Generation process

The advertising strategies

CIOs, system architects, administrators, and other groups of people were identified as personas. This group was then increasingly qualified during the marketing lead process and further activated for purchase by CRM software and scoring models.

Marketing lead process: from awareness to consideration and conversion to lead.

Inform. Engage. Convert

The basic strategy was to direct new and existing customers to the digital touchpoints. There, potential customers were to be informed about the product in the first phase. This was mainly done via the blog and relevant social networks. In the second phase, interested customers were activated by further content such as case studies, white papers or e-books and convinced of the advantages of the product. Important success criteria here were the adequate targeting of potential customers, but also the testing of the different teaser and advertising variants. Here, there are often worlds between the different motifs in terms of success. And often the users click on completely different motifs than one would think in advance.

In the third phase, we went through specific lead campaigns and marketing automation to the process of conversion to a marketing lead. As is so often the case, it’s not just a matter of using the right tactics; the technology and tools must also support these precisely fitting experiences. And here, too, a lot of testing and optimization wants to be done to achieve the best possible results. We can’t say this often enough: details matter! And those who save on testing and optimization always pay for it through significantly higher spending in advertising, usually by a multiple of the testing effort.

Marketing lead process: from awareness to consideration and conversion to lead.

Matrix Funnel

In order to be able to grasp the target group, the first step was to create a matrix of relevant drivers for targeting. The drivers were a precise keyword analysis, insights from competitors, CRM and social data on the individual personas, and narrowing down based on account lists.

This matrix resulted in a precise target group that could be addressed via digital channels and promoted directly with the appropriate product. By the way, every matrix is different and always reflects the current focus. For example, if there are only a few competitors and a large variety of products, it can make sense to also include product specifics in the matrix.

The four drivers for targeting are used to reach precise target groups.

Retargeting Funnel

The second strategy focused on retargeting. In the top funnel, the classic funnel was used to promote the blog and the website with high-reach ads. In the further consideration phase, the persona circle could be condensed even more through targeted addressing and content. Subsequently, potential customers were converted back into marketing leads through white papers or e-books with a high degree of accuracy.

Operationalization

In order to achieve the awareness and LGO goals, The Digitale has used suitable native advertising platforms to target users of high-quality industry media such as CIO, COMPUTERWOCHE or Handelsblatt. Thanks to The Digitale’s extensive experience, the prices on these platforms are relatively low, even for B2B-relevant topics, with high-quality traffic. But of course, “classics” such as search marketing – in this case Google Ads and social media (Facebook Ads in this case) – also played an important role in drawing people’s attention to Micro Focus and its products.

There are many ways to reach users of high-value industry media.

Mission accomplished

The Digitale was able to generate awareness in the individual customer segments for specific products as well as strengthen the Micro Focus brand in the DACH region and generate relevant leads.

Results: The Digitale was able to generate awareness for specific products as well as generate relevant leads.

Only the interaction of matrix and retargeting ultimately led to the great success of the lead generation measure. Data protection issues, such as the development of third-party cookies, are also one of the reasons for using multiple strategies. An important success criterion is and remains the cross-channel use of content. Here, the details and the amount of valuable information matter.

You want to know which advantages Demand Generation has for your business? Then contact us now, there is also a suitable solution for you.

More exciting insights

Exciting?

Spread the word and share this post with your colleagues and friends.

Demand Generation: Lead-Generierung für komplexe Produkte und Services

Headerbild mit Virtual Universe 2020
Viele User werden nicht immer direkt zu Kunden. So kannst Du Awareness schaffen und qualifizierte Leads generieren.

In diesem Insight erfährst Du anhand von konkreten Beispielen, was Demand Generation ist und für welche Use Cases sich diese Marketing Taktik empfiehlt. Anhand von konkreten Beispielen und einer Case Study des Software-Herstellers Micro Focus, erklären wir Dir, was die Erfolgskriterien für Demand Generation sind.

Die Aufgabe: Schaffe Awareness und generiere qualifizierte Leads für die komplexen Softwareprodukte der internationalen Marke Micro Focus. Für diese Herausforderung hat The Digitale die Marketing-Strategie Demand Generation für den Enterprise IT-Hersteller erfolgreich auf dem DACH-Markt etabliert.

Demand Generation – nachhaltiges Marketing zur Generierung von Leads und Vorbereitung von Sales

Richtig angewendet ist Demand Generation – in Deutschland manchmal auch als Lead Generation via E-Mail-Marketing „unterschätzt“ – eine Marketing-Strategie, die mittel- bis langfristige Maßnahmen beinhaltet und sehr effektiv sowie nachhaltig wirkt.

Bei Demand Generation geht es nämlich nicht – wie der Name vielleicht suggerieren könnte – nur darum, eine kurzfristige Produkt-Nachfrage zu schaffen. Vielmehr soll beim potenziellen Kunden ein echtes und langanhaltendes Interesse an den Lösungen und Dienstleistungen der Marke wachsen – dies meist über mehrere Touchpoints hinweg und häufig mit Content Marketing Taktiken verbunden. Dieser Prozess wird gerne auch als Lead Nurturing bezeichnet – die Lead-Generierung als sich ständig verbesserndes System. Deshalb findet Demand Generation meist im B2B-Marketing Anwendung, also bei Lösungen von Unternehmen für Unternehmen, eignet sich aber auch bestens für hochwertige B2C-Produkte.

Demand Generation am Beispiel erklärt

Am Beispiel des Kaufs einer Waschmaschine lässt sich Demand Generation noch einmal besser illustrieren: Ein Kunde geht heute höchst selten impulsiv in einen Elektronikmarkt und sagt: Die Waschmaschine da hinten nehme ich!

Denn bevor er im Markt oder im Online-Shop kauft, hat er vor seiner Entscheidung meist mehrere Touchpoints im Internet durchlaufen und sich umfassend mit Content über verschiedene Typenklassen, Hersteller und vieles mehr in Medien und Testberichten, aber auch auf den Herstellerseiten informiert. Vor Ort im Markt lässt sich der Kunde dann wahrscheinlich auch noch einmal genau das Produkt durch den Verkäufer erklären.

Die Orchestrierung der gesamten Customer Journey: Der Content, die Personalisierung von der ersten Suche oder dem ersten Klick auf einen Banner bis zum Vortrag das Verkäufers – das ist Demand Generation mit hoher Qualität sowohl für den Anbieter als auch für den Interessenten.

Key take away: Demand Generation ist das Mittel der Wahl, wenn Dein Kunde in der Regel eine längere Customer Journey durchläuft, bis er sich zu einem Kauf entscheidet.

Dein Schlüssel zum Erfolg sind hochwertige Daten

Um komplexe Zielgruppen adressieren zu können, ist es zunächst entscheidend, die richtigen Daten über sie zu haben – oder sie durch effiziente Marketing-Kampagnen zu generieren.

Wir nutzen für unsere Kundenprojekte hier alle zur Verfügung stehenden Datentöpfe. Und diese sind meist größer und besser, als man im ersten Moment annimmt. Denn SEO- und Social-Daten, Deine CRM-Daten, aber auch gezielte Marktforschung und vorbereitende Marketingmaßnahmen helfen, ein plastisches Bild von Deiner Persona, ihrem jeweiligen Bedarf und ihren Problemen zu zeichnen. So können anschließend auf den für die Zielgruppe passenden Kanälen hochwertige, zielgerichtete Informationen über Deine Lösungen für die Bedürfnisse und Probleme Deiner Zielgruppe präsentiert werden.

Case Study: Micro Focus

Die beiden primären Ziele für die langfristig angelegte Kampagne waren: Awareness für Micro Focus und Micro Focus Produkte in der DACH-Region erhöhen und Lead Generated Opportunities (LGOs) schaffen. Darunter sind qualifizierte Leads zu verstehen, die durch die Vertriebsexperten von Micro Focus validiert wurden, um so die erwartete Budgetdimension eines Projektes abzuschätzen und dem Marketing-Lead zuschreiben zu können.

Auch die Komplexität des Angebotes von Micro Focus trug zur Herausforderung bei: Als eines der 10 größten Softwareunternehmen weltweit verfügt Micro Focus über etwa 270 Produkte, die jeweils verschiedene Wettbewerber und auch sehr unterschiedliche Zielgruppen haben. Die Wettbewerber reichen von IBM und Microsoft bis hin zu Startups und mittelständischen Softwareanbietern mit differenzierten Kompetenzen in der Nische.

Der Lead Generation Prozess

Die Advertising-Strategien

Als Persona wurden CIOs, Systemarchitekten, Administratoren sowie weitere Personengruppen identifiziert. Dieser Kreis wurde dann während des Marketing-Lead-Prozesses zunehmend qualifiziert und durch CRM-Software und Scoring-Modelle weiter zum Kauf aktiviert.

Marketing-Lead-Prozess: Von Awareness, über Consideration und Conversion zum Lead.

Inform. Engage. Convert

Die Grundstrategie bestand darin, neue und bestehende Kunden auf die digitalen Touchpoints zu lenken. Dort sollten potenzielle Kunden in der ersten Phase über das Produkt informiert werden. Das geschah hauptsächlich über den Blog und relevante soziale Netzwerke. In der zweiten Phase wurden interessierte Kunden durch weiterführende Inhalte wie Case Studies, Whitepaper oder E-Books aktiviert und von den Vorteilen des Produktes überzeugt. Wichtige Erfolgskriterien waren hier das adäquate Targeting der potentiellen Kunden aber auch das Testing der verschiedenen Teaser- und Advertising Varianten. Hier liegen oft Welten zwischen den verschiedenen Motiven im Sinne des Erfolges. Und oftmals klicken die Nutzer auf gänzlich andere Motive, als man vorab meinen würde.

In der dritten Phase ging es durch konkrete Lead-Kampagnen und Marketing Automation zum Prozess der Conversion zum Marketing Lead. Wie so oft kommt es nicht nur auf den Einsatz der richtigen Taktik an, sondern auch die Technik und Tools müssen diese passgenauen Erlebnisse unterstützen. Und auch hier will viel getestet und optimiert werden, um bestmögliche Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Wir können das gar nicht oft genug sagen: Details matter! Und wer sich Testing und Optimierungen spart, zahlt das immer durch deutliche höhere Spendings im Advertising, meist um ein vielfaches der Aufwände des Testings.

Ziel ist es, den neuen und bestehenden Kunden über die drei Phasen als Lead zu generieren.

Matrix Funnel

Um die Zielgruppe greifen zu können, wurde im ersten Schritt eine Matrix von relevanten Treibern für das Targeting erstellt. Die Treiber waren eine genaue Keyword-Analyse, Erkenntnisse von Wettbewerbern, CRM- und Social-Daten zu den einzelnen Personas sowie Eingrenzung anhand von Accountlisten.

Aus dieser Matrix resultierte eine präzise Zielgruppe, die über digitale Kanäle adressierbar war und direkt mit dem passenden Produkt beworben werden konnte. Übrigens: Jede Matrix ist anders und spiegelt immer den aktuellen Fokus wider. Zum Beispiel kann es bei wenigen Wettbewerbern und hoher Produktvielfalt sinnvoll sein, auch Produktspezifika mit in die Matrix aufzunehmen.

Die vier Treiber fürs Targeting dienen dazu, präzise Zielgruppen greifen zu können.

Retargeting Funnel

Bei der zweiten Strategie stand das Retargeting im Mittelpunkt. Mit dem klassischen Funnel ging es im Top-Funnel an die Bewerbung des Blogs und der Website mit reichweitenstarken Anzeigen. In der weiteren Consideration-Phase konnte der Persona-Kreis durch gezielte Ansprache und Inhalte noch mehr kondensiert werden. Im Anschluss wurden dann mit hoher Treffgenauigkeit potenzielle Kunden wieder durch Whitepaper oder E-Books zum Marketing Lead konvertiert.

Operationalisierung

Um die Awareness- und LGO-Ziele zu erreichen, hat sich The Digitale passender Native Advertising Plattformen bedient, um Nutzer von hochwertigen Branchenmedien wie z. B. CIO, COMPUTERWOCHE oder auch Handelsblatt gezielt zu erreichen. Durch die umfassende Erfahrung von The Digitale sind die Preise auf diesen Plattformen selbst für B2B-relevante Themen relativ günstig bei hochwertigem Traffic. Aber natürlich spielten auch „Klassiker“ wie Searchmarketing – in diesem Fall Google Ads und Social Media (hier Facebook Ads) – eine wichtige Rolle, um Personen auf Micro Focus und seine Produkte aufmerksam zu machen.

Es gibt viele Wege, um Nutzer von hochwertigen Branchenmedien zu erreichen.

Mission accomplished

The Digitale konnte sowohl Awareness in den einzelnen Kundensegmenten für bestimmte Produkte generieren als auch die Marke Micro Focus in der DACH-Region stärken und relevante Leads generieren.

Ergebnisse: The Digitale konnte sowohl Awareness für bestimmte Produkte generieren als auch relevante Leads generieren.

Erst das Zusammenspiel von Matrix und Retargeting führte letztlich zum großen Erfolg der Lead Generation Maßnahme. Auch Datenschutz-Themen, wie die Entwicklung von Third-Party-Cookies, sind mit ein Grund für die Verwendung von mehreren Strategien. Ein wichtiges Erfolgskriterium ist und bleibt der kanalübergreifende Einsatz von Content. Dabei kommt es auf die Details und die Anzahl an wertvollen Informationen an.

Du willst wissen, welche Vorteile Demand Generation für genau Dein Business hat? Dann nimm jetzt Kontakt mit uns auf, es gibt auch für Dich eine passende Lösung

Mehr spannende Insights

Spannend?

Sag es weiter und teile diesen Beitrag mit deinen Kollegen und Freunden.