Headerbild mit Virtual Universe 2020

Micro Focus

#VirtualUniverse 2020 – a digital success story

The major event originally planned as a live trade fair in The Hague had to be converted into a virtual conference within two weeks.

Measures

  • Content formats
  • Social coverage
  • Marketing strategy
  • Advertising
Laptop mit MicroFocus Virtual Universe 2020 Screen

Digital transformation implemented within two weeks

Our marketing strategy had to be changed in record time so that the promotion could start immediately after the announcement of the virtual implementation of the Micro Focus trade fair. The result in cooperation with the client was spectacular: Due to our media strategy within the DACH region we were able to significantly increase the number of German-speaking participants. The hashtag #VirtualUniverse designed by the Micro Focus Social Team reached 18 million unique views in just two weeks.

This is what it’s all about

The Universe is Micro Focus’s largest annual event for customers and partners in Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Latin America, focusing on digital transformation and IT security. In 2020, it was originally planned as a presence conference in The Hague, Netherlands.

However, the worldwide spread of the corona virus (COVID-19) made the originally planned event impossible. The challenge for THE DIGITALE was to change the event’s promotion in German-speaking countries and the originally planned on-site conference coverage to a 100% virtual event.

The results were overwhelmingly positive for Micro Focus, the conference participants and for us. A real success story about how digital transformation can be lived out in a very relevant scenario, exceeding all expectations.

the-digitale-gmbh_mitarbeiter_anton-dietrich_square

„Around this event there was a hype that I had not expected. This proves that the market is willing to commit itself to a virtual program of this magnitude at short notice“

Allan Woodcock
Lloyds Banking Group

This is how Allan Woodcock began his commentary on the #VirtualUniverse 2020. He described very aptly what we achieved together with Micro Focus in the few weeks at the beginning of the turbulent year 2020.

During the two-week preparation period, we were able to completely change the promotion of the live event to a virtual lecture event. In addition to the ad hoc change of the very complex marketing strategy, we also published revised professional articles, created new social posts and adapted the application on all relevant channels. All measures had the goal to make #VirtualUniverse with its top-class speakers and lectures a very special event despite the difficult environment. On the agenda in March 2020 were speeches by 30 well-known speakers from customers such as Lloyds Banking Group, MegaLabs, Carrefour, Spar and Verizon Connect as well as from partners such as PWC, Deloitte and DXC.

„Perhaps this could be a possible model for the future.“

The #VirtualUniverse, originally an idea born out of the Corona crisis, thus became a prime example of lived, digital transformation. The purely online event took place on the virtual stage with top-class lectures by experts in the field of digital transformation. More than 3,500 interested customers and partners attended, exceeding all expectations. The hashtag #VirtualUniverse literally went around the world with over 18 million unique views in just two weeks. A total of 1,435 clicks and 2.2 million impressions were achieved via Native Advertising on outbrain, which were supplemented by a further 1,124 clicks on Facebook. In this way, Micro Focus, together with customers and other partners, was able to significantly increase awareness of Micro Focus within a very short period of time and increase market opportunities with customers and prospects. “The transition to a virtual Micro Focus Universe was seamless, scalable and in line with the current business climate. Perhaps it can even serve as a model for future events,” enthused Tim Crawford, one of the world’s most influential IT leaders.

Virtual Coverage

In addition to the rapid change in communication strategy, a particular challenge was to accompany the #VirtualUniverse online and to distribute the highlights in real time on Micro Focus’s communication channels. For this purpose, the content team at THE DIGITALE created over 70 social posts during the 3-day event, which were played out via Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.

During the virtual conference, but also throughout the entire project period, the Microsoft Teams collaboration platform was used to exchange information. This made communication within the team much easier and enabled joint work on documents and via chats.

After the successful execution of the live event, Micro Focus set up its own on-demand platform on which all lectures of the #VirtualUniverse were available for free playback. The aim is to use these recordings to address members of the IT industry and generate additional awareness for the Micro Focus brand. The digital marketing team promoted the presentations using paid social and native advertising.

the-digitale-gmbh_mitarbeiter_anton-dietrich_square

Presentations can be accessed free of charge

All interested parties who were not able to attend the #VirtualUniverse or who want to review what they have seen, can view all presentations of the conference as recordings. The on-demand lectures are available free of charge on the event website.

Clicks

Impressions

More exciting Cases

Telekom Netz Podcast

Telekom Netz Podcast

More than 500,000 kilometres of fibre optic cable, over 29,000 mobile phone masts – operating the telecommunications network is an exciting task.

ISPO.com

ISPO.com

How do you transform a classic trade fair, whose original business purpose is the marketing of stand space, into a digital B2B2C key medium?

Telekom Netzblog

Telekom Netzblog

The Deutsche Telekom network blog is an example of the digital transformation that many communicators are currently experiencing.

Exciting?

Spread the word and share this post with your colleagues and friends.

Headerbild mit Virtual Universe 2020

Micro Focus

#VirtualUniverse 2020 – eine digitale Erfolgsstory

Die ursprünglich als Live-Messe in Den Haag geplante Großveranstaltung musste binnen zwei Wochen in eine virtuelle Konferenz umgewandelt werden.

Maßnahmen

  • Content Formate
  • Social coverage
  • Marketingstrategie
  • Bewerbung
Laptop mit MicroFocus Virtual Universe 2020 Screen

Digitale Transformation innerhalb von zwei Wochen umgesetzt

Unsere Marketing-Strategie musste in Rekordtempo umgestellt werden, damit die Promotion direkt nach Verkündung der virtuellen Durchführung der Micro Focus-Messe beginnen konnte. Das Ergebnis in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden war spektakulär: Aufgrund unserer Mediastrategie innerhalb der DACH-Region konnten wir die Anzahl der deutschsprachigen Teilnehmer deutlich steigern. Der vom Micro Focus Social Team entworfene Hashtag #VirtualUniverse erreichte in nur zwei Wochen 18 Millionen Unique Views.

Darum geht’s

Die Universe ist alljährlich die größte Veranstaltung von Micro Focus für Kunden und Partner in Europa, dem Nahen Osten, Afrika und Lateinamerika mit den Schwerpunkten Digitale Transformation und IT Security. Im Jahr 2020 war sie ursprünglich in Den Haag/Niederlande als Präsenz-Konferenz geplant.

Die weltweite Ausbreitung des Corona-Virus (COVID-19) machte die ursprünglich geplante Ausrichtung jedoch unmöglich. So entstand für The Digitale die Herausforderung, die Bewerbung des Events im deutschsprachigen Raum sowie die ursprünglich vor Ort geplante Conference Coverage auf eine 100% virtuelle Ausrichtung umzustellen.

Die Ergebnisse waren für Micro Focus, die Teilnehmer der Konferenz genau wie für uns überwältigend positiv. Eine echte Erfolgsstory darüber, wie digitale Transformation in einem sehr relevanten Szenario gelebt werden kann und dabei alle Erwartungen übertrifft.

the-digitale-gmbh_mitarbeiter_anton-dietrich_square

„Um diese Veranstaltung herum gab es einen Hype, den ich so nicht erwartet hätte. Das beweist, dass der Markt bereit ist, sich kurzfristig auf ein virtuelles Programm dieser Größenordnung einzulassen.“

Allan Woodcock
Lloyds Banking Group

So leitete Allan Woodcock seinen Kommentar zur #VirtualUniverse 2020 ein. Er beschrieb damit sehr passend, was wir gemeinsam mit Micro Focus in den wenigen Wochen zu Beginn des turbulenten Jahres 2020 erreichten.

Während der zweiwöchigen Vorbereitungszeit konnten wir die Bewerbung des Live-Events vollständig auf eine virtuelle Vortragsveranstaltung umstellen. Neben der Ad-Hoc Veränderung der sehr komplexen Marketingstrategie wurden außerdem überarbeitete Fachartikel veröffentlicht, neue Social-Posts erstellt und die Bewerbung auf allen relevanten Kanälen angepasst. Alle Maßnahmen hatten das Ziel, die #VirtualUniverse mit Ihren hochkarätigen Rednern und Vorträgen trotz des schwierigen Umfelds zu einem ganz besonderen Event zu machen. Auf der Agenda standen dann im März 2020 Vorträge von 30 namhaften Rednern von Kunden wie Lloyds Banking Group, MegaLabs, Carrefour, Spar und Verizon Connect sowie von Partnern wie PWC, Deloitte und DXC.

„Vielleicht kann das auch zukünftig ein mögliches Modell sein.“

Die #VirtualUniverse, ursprünglich eine aus der Corona-Krise geborene Idee, wurde so zu einem Musterbeispiel für gelebte, digitale Transformation. Das reine Online-Event ging mit hochkarätigen Vorträgen von Experten in Sachen digitaler Transformation über die virtuelle Bühne. Mehr als 3.500 interessierte Kunden und Partner nahmen teil, womit sämtliche Erwartungen übertroffen wurden. Der Hashtag #VirtualUniverse ging mit über 18 Millionen Unique Views in nur zwei Wochen im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes rund um die Welt. So wurden insgesamt 1.435 Klicks und 2,2 Millionen Impressions über Native Advertising auf outbrain erzielt, die um weitere 1.124 Klicks auf Facebook ergänzt wurden. Auf diese Weise gelang es Micro Focus gemeinsam mit Kunden und anderen Partnern, binnen kürzester Zeit den Bekanntheitsgrad von Micro Focus signifikant zu erhöhen und die Marktchancen bei Kunden und Interessenten zu steigern. „Die Umstellung auf eine virtuelle Micro Focus Universe war nahtlos, skalierbar und im Einklang mit dem aktuellen Geschäftsklima. Vielleicht kann das sogar ein Vorbild für zukünftige Veranstaltungen sein”, schwärmte Tim Crawford, eine der einflussreichsten IT-Leader der Welt.

Virtual Coverage

Neben der rasanten Umstellung der Kommunikationsstrategie bestand eine besondere Herausforderung darin, die #VirtualUniverse auch online zu begleiten und die Highlights in Echtzeit auf den Kommunikationskanälen von Micro Focus zu streuen. Zu diesem Zweck erstellte das Content-Team bei The Digitale im Laufe des 3-tägigen Events über 70 Social Posts, die über Twitter, Facebook und LinkedIn ausgespielt wurden.

Während der virtuellen Konferenz, aber auch über den gesamten Projektzeitraum hinweg diente die Kollaborationsplattform Microsoft Teams für den Informationsaustausch. So konnte die Kommunikation im Team erheblich erleichtert und das gemeinsame Arbeiten an Dokumenten und via Chats realisiert werden.

Nach der erfolgreichen Durchführung des Live-Events wurde eine eigene On-Demand-Plattform von Micro Focus aufgebaut, auf der alle Vorträge der #VirtualUniverse zur kostenfreien Wiedergabe zur Verfügung stehen. Das Ziel ist es, mithilfe dieser Aufzeichnungen Mitglieder der IT-Branche anzusprechen und zusätzliche Awareness für die Marke Micro Focus zu generieren. Dafür bewarb das Digital Marketing Team die Vorträge mithilfe von Paid Social und Native Advertising.

the-digitale-gmbh_mitarbeiter_anton-dietrich_square

Vorträge können kostenfrei abgerufen werden

Alle Interessierten, die nicht an der #VirtualUniverse teilnehmen konnten oder das Gesehene noch einmal Revue passieren lassen wollen, können sich alle Vorträge der Konferenz als Aufzeichnungen ansehen. Die On-Demand-Vorträge stehen kostenfrei über die Veranstaltungswebsite zur Verfügung.

Klicks

Impressions

Mehr erfolgreiche Cases

Telekom Netz Podcast

Telekom Netz Podcast

Mehr als 500.000 Kilometer Glasfaserkabel, über 29.000 Mobilfunkmasten – der Betrieb des Telekomnetzes ist eine spannende Aufgabe.

ISPO.com

ISPO.com

Wie transformiert man eine klassische Messe, deren ursprünglicher Geschäftszweck die Vermarktung von Standfläche ist, in ein digitales B2B2C-Leitmedium?

Telekom Netzblog

Telekom Netzblog

Der Netzblog der Deutschen Telekom zeigt exemplarisch die digitale Transformation, die aktuell viele Kommunikatoren erleben.

Spannend?

Sag es weiter und teile diesen Beitrag mit deinen Kollegen und Freunden.